Keep Buying Local at Your Farmer’s Market

We are doing three farmer’s markets this summer, around the state of Vermont, so I have  a lot of time to browse the other vendor’s wares, and I have been very impressed with the produce that has been growing in this fine state.

It seems that this summer, I have been making most of my purchases locally, and eating a lot more local food.  It not only supports the local community, but it tastes SO much better.  The freshness of fresh picked carrots, just pulled from the ground that morning is amazing.  In this post, for you local Vermonters, or those traveling to the Green Mountain State, I have decided to list a couple of my favorite foods that I have bought at the Williston, Middlebury, and Hinesburg farmer’s markets:

  • New Russet Potatoes from Scratch ‘n Earth Farm in Williston
  • Snap Peas from Elmore Farm in East Montpeiler
  • Raspberries from Norris Berry Farm in Monkton
  • Maple Creemees from Comeau Family Sugarhouse in Williston
  • Blueberries from Valley Dream Farm in Cambridge
  • Carrots from Cricket Organics in Hinesburg
  • Spinach from 2 Sweet Acres in Hinesburg
  • Whoopie Pies at the Hinesburg Market–I am a sucker for a good whoopie pie.

So, as you can see, I have been buying a lot of local produce.  I encourage you to do the same and experience the difference.  With rising food costs at the grocery store, buying local is a great (sometimes more inexpensive) way to feed your family.

I hope everyone is doing well.  As a reminder, you can always find our energy bars (and mustard) at the Williston, Hinesburg, and Middlebury Farmer’s Markets.

Michael, Owner
Eddie’s Energy Bars

Leave a Reply

