Importance of Group Dynamics

Should I be the one to take the hit on my grade if other people in my group can’t do their work right?  I don’t think so.  I had a group project due in one my classes recently.  The group was a whopping twelve people.  That’s way too many to get something done right.  It has been shown that the best team, is a team of 5-6 people. Not twice that many.  My grade suffered on behalf of people who decided to not execute in a timely manner, of which I had to make up for to the best of my abilities.  Because of this escapade, I have decided to write about the most important quality of an effective group. Use fantastic communication skills to turn out an awesome project:

Communication, Communication, Communication
I cannot stress this enough.  Without great communication, you’re done.  Don’t even try.  The project will end up a mess.  A couple of keys for group communication: obtain everyones contact information. The second your group is formed, e-mail everyone with a copy of that contact information to make sure all members have the correct spelling, etc. This is a crucial step in case someone needs to get in contact with another team member. Here are a couple of situations that stem around effective communication:

–>Didn’t get a file?  Tell someone.  Your next meeting might not be as productive if you don’t have the file everyone is talking about.
–>Can’t understand what something means? Ask Questions.  There is no such thing as a stupid question.
–>Want to make a decision?  Get it approved by everyone.  It’s chaos if you move ahead without everyones consent.
–>Don’t like a decision?  Don’t be afraid to speak up.  Sometimes their decisions aren’t the best.
–>Don’t use e-mail to communicate.  Pick up a phone and go old school.  It’s most likely faster.

These are just a few crucial things you need to do to keep a cohesive group.  I for one am not a fan of group work if everyone is on a different page.  I thought college would be a place where group work would thrive, and things would get done in a timely manner.  Yeah…right.  I must have been dreaming. Most people love groups because they can sit back and relax, letting the good times roll….someone else can do the work.  I’m the one doing all the work. It always ends up that way.  I’m one of the few that choose not to procrastinate.  There is nothing wrong with taking charge and getting things done.  If you are this type of person, kudos to you!  Stand up, and take the reigns.  You’ll be noted and recognized for it later.

Off to go study for my marketing exam! Have a great day!

Michael Adams, Owner
Eddie’s Energy Bars

Leave a Reply

