Let My People Go Surfing

The book “Let My People Go Surfing” by Yvon Chouinard, the owner and founder of Patagonia, is hands down the best business book I have read in a while.  Most business books are run of the mill, and spit out the same information, just by different authors.  This book is different, and really got me thinking about where I want my company to go, and what I want it to be all about.

In a couple of sections Chouinard comes back to the point of why he is in business, and the image his company is looking to portray. He’s in business to raise awareness of environmental devastation around the world, and wants Patagonia to be seen as a high-quality climbing equipment and apparel maker.

I know why I am in business, but am I in business for the right reason?  I personally started this business to gain experience in two areas: the business world and the specialty food industry.  And, of course, to try and make a buck.  I think I have succeeded at all three of these, but there is a however.

The reason I think I should be in business is to not only sell my product, but to make a difference in the lives of everyone around me.  I am starting to think that the real reason I am in business is to change the way people think about nutrition, fitness, and their overall health.

How should I do this?  I wanted to start the Eddie’s Energy: Get Outdoors program. Maybe I should really do it and help people, kids and adults alike, to get outside exercising, and eating right.

More on how I want my brand to be seen later.

Have a great day!

Michael–EEB

PS: I haven’t forgotten about blogging about nutrition and fitness…it’s been busy in the entrepreneurial ring.

Leave a Reply

