What it means to “be” your job

As the daily goings-on of a college student aren’t that interesting as homemade energy bars, and I am on a one tunnel mind with finals right around the corner, I thought I would turn an essay prompt given to me by my English professor into an entry, rather than a final essay due on Wednesday. (Don’t worry–the essay is done. I just need to proofread)

Here is the prompt:

While it is common for us to think of a job as merely something one does to make money, for many characters we’ve read about this semester, the notion of “a job” transcends mere employment and is instead deeply involved in how that character defines his or her very identity. Compare this notion of “being” one’s job as it appears in some of the texts we’ve read this semester. Be sure to comment on how each situation is resolved and how this resolution helps us understand what it means to “be” one’s job in each of the texts under consideration.

Now, obviously I’m going to have to tweak some words for this post. I am not talking about books here, but the “notion of being one’s job”. I don’t like to think about myself as Michael Adams, the owner of Eddie’s Energy Bars in Richmond, Vermont. I like to think about myself as Michael Adams, the son of Jeanne and Ed Adams, fitness and health guru, avid foodie, and Bryant University Freshman. But, it just so happens that I own a healthy energy bar company.

In no way would I like to usurp my entire life into my business. That would not be living life the way it is supposed to be lived. I shape my business around my life’s happenings. If I want to go to a movie, I go to a movie. I need to have fun. I’m still a young adult that needs to go out with my friends, and not constantly worry if I got an e-mail from a customer. It’s hard for me now, because I probably check my e-mail 3,000 times a day. Ok, I am exaggerating.

I can think of a couple of examples where people have their head stuck in the sand, and don’t notice that their job surrounds them constantly, not allowing them to go on with daily life. Sadly, this is American Culture–work, work, work up the corporate ladder you go. Pretty soon everyone in corporate America will be their job. But, that is what is so great about entrepreneurship: You are able to be you, with a business on the side.

Feel free to leave comments to this great essay prompt, or in response to what I think about it.

Have a great day!

Michael
Eddie’s Energy Bars

Leave a Reply

